The National Council, in tandem with the Executive Director and Curatorial & Residency Director, serves as advisory that guides the artistic direction of the Mentor Artist-in-Residence program and exhibitions in alignment with the organization’s mission as an arm of the Board of Trustees. The National Council is comprised of up to 20 artists, curators and cultural workers representing literary, performing and visual arts. The members serve an unpaid three-year renewable term and are selected by recommendations from current and past members, former Mentoring Artists, and staff. 

The National Council meets annually to evaluate past programs, to preview future programs, and to administer the process of vetting future Mentoring Artists-in-Residence, and residency alumni exhibitions programming. All Mentoring Artists are vetted and nominated by current and emeritus National Council members, the Artist-in-Residence program department, ACA directorial staff and program alumni. We do not accept unsolicited requests for Mentoring Artist or National Council considerations. 



Janice Bond
Cultural Architect | Art Advisor | Interdisciplinary Artist 

Cornelius Eady
Poet | Playwright 

Carolyn Forché
Poet | Writer 

Janie Geiser
Visual Artist | Filmmaker 

Bob Holman
Poet | Founder of Bowery Poetry Club 

Sky Hopinka
Visual Artist | Filmmaker | Harvard University 

Clemenstien Love
Architect | Founding Director, The Room 



Jessica Gaynelle Moss
Artist | Curator | Founding Director, The Roll Up

Monica Marin
Independent Curator  | Chief Curator, USVI Division of Libraries, Archives and Museums, Department of Planning and Natural Resources

Larry Ossei-Mensah
Curator | Co-founder, ARTNOIR 

Judith Shatin
Performing Artist 

Jawole Willa Jo Zollar

Adrian Todd Zuniga
Literary Death Match 


Edward Albee (March 12, 1928 – September 16, 2016), chair emeritus

David Randolph White, emeritus
Artistic and Executive Director of THE YARD